Directi says Karsten threatened it over .ping gTLD
The golf club maker Karsten has launched an attack on Directi due to their dispute over the new gTLD .ping, following through on threats Directi says the company made last month.
Karsten’s outside counsel, Paul McGrady of Winston & Strawn, filed over 200 comments and a 500-page letter against Direct’s new gTLD applications last night, shortly before the ICANN deadline.
In the comments, McGrady says that Directi should be banned from running any new gTLDs because its affiliated privacy service, PrivacyProtect.org, has lost dozens of UDRP cases.
But Directi said today that the Strawn comments — filed against applications such as .web, .hosting and .app — are just a smokescreen for Karsten’s claim over .ping.
Ping is a brand of golf clubs Karsten sells at ping.com, but Directi plans to use the gTLD in its other, geeky sense, open to all-comers.
Directi says that Karsten told it in an August 8 letter to withdraw the .ping bid or face action. According to Directi, the letter said in part:
Karsten is preparing to post this letter and the attached public comments for each of your applications, not just .ping, prior to the end of the public comment period. Once filed, this letter and the public comments will also be sent to the ICANN Board and Senior Staff. Further, as you know, Karsten may seek relief from the courts, through ICANN’s various processes, and through raising awareness of your activities within the ICANN community generally. Karsten will pursue all appropriate means to ensure that all of your applications are rejected.
Directi said in a statement: “Karsten is our only competitor for the .ping bid and their comment is submitted in bad faith and to further their self-interest.”
CEO Bhavin Turakhia said that PrivacyProtect.org did not own any of the domain names listed in the UDRP cases McGrady cited, it merely acted as the privacy service.
The company removes the privacy protection when UDRPs are filed, he said, but the registrant’s identity is not always listed in the published decision.













Recent Comments
http://www.thedomains.com/2013/05/20/did-google-just-kill-off-selling-subdomains/... read more
New Website cvvplaza.biz ( The woman is coming soon, we just started again. ) You can contact us on same e-mail & ... read more
New Website cvvplaza.biz ( The woman is coming soon, we just started again. ) You can contact us on same e-mail & ... read more
.Tokyo results were never announced, so ICANN don't have to retract them, but it is indeed a material change to applicat... read more
Hmmm is this interesting! Wonder if this signifies the strings they are okay losing for a larger pot of gold to secure ... read more
Interesting point about .tokyo Ruben. So this makes me wonder if a re-evaluation is necessary as this appears to be a m... read more
"Multiple registrars, resellers and affiliates" => check on both Tucows and Logic Boxes. I'll ask Fly9 for a services... read more
To my knowledge, Fly9 is the only provider that enables multiple registrars, resellers and affiliates for a given TLD on... read more
GMO Registry probably got their CQS for .Tokyo (priority number 199) circa January 31, which would make their deadline e... read more
@Hiro Tsukahara: Please email me your direct email contact to marekgubala[at]email.cz, as I would like to send you so... read more